About Bonten California

Bonten Media Group is an operator of leading local television stations across the United States. Our stations are affiliated with America's major networks, including ABC, NBC, CW and This TV. At Bonten, our goal is to bring you the most accurate and up to date news. That means we are dedicated to not only being leading stations but also doing it right. Creating television that serves the needs of audiences and advertisers alike is paramount at Bonten Media Group.

Bonten California stations include KRCR, KUCO 27 – Univision, myTV –Northern California 29.2, LiveWell Network, and MeTV in the Redding, Chico and Red Bluff area. They also include KAEF, KEUV 31 – Univision, and CW 29.1 in Eureka.

Bonten California has a shared services agreement with the following Esteem stations: KCVU - Fox 20 in Chico-Redding, ThisTV and KBVU – Fox 28 in Eureka.

For more information on Bonten California, contact our Vice President/General Manager, Andrew Stewart, at astewart@bontencalifornia.com

The Culture of Excellence

We believe that creating a Culture of Excellence is the key to developing strong television stations that provide top quality service to our viewers and our advertisers, returns to our investors, and job satisfaction to our staff.

KRCR-TV Signed on the Air in 1956

KRCR-TV Channel 7 is a television station serving the people of Shasta, Tehama, Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, and Trinity counties.

The station was founded in 1956 as KVIP-TV by William B. Smullin as a primary NBC affiliate with a secondary ABC affiliation. By 1963, network emphasis had shifted towards ABC. It changed from primary NBC affiliation to a full-time ABC affiliation in 1978. 

The KRCR call sign comes from Redding, Chico, Red Bluff.

KAEF-TV Signed on Air in 1987

KAEF is a semi-satellite of KRCR, serving the North Coast as the ABC affiliate. KAEF began broadcasting in 1987 under the call sign KREQ.  In 1989, Channel 23 adopted the call letters K-A-E-F,  for Arcata, Eureka, Fortuna.

KAEF offers a separate newscast, called North Coast News, at 6 p.m. and 11 p.m. 

Redding-Chico Station Contacts

Vice President/General Manager
Andrew Stewart
astewart@bontencalifornia.com

Executive News Director
Jennifer Scarborough
jscarborough@bontencalifornia.com

Local Sales Manager, Chico/Redding
Carlos Casarez
ccasarez@bontencalifornia.com

Director of Programming/Chico Station Manager
Cris Aguilar
caguilar@esteembroadcasting.com

Traffic Director
Jeremy Alexander
jalexander@bontencalifornia.com

Promotions, Marketing, Production Manager
Harley Wettemann
hwettemann@bontencalifornia.com

Community Outreach/Promotions Coordinator
Katie Summers
ksummers@bontencalifornia.com

Digital Media Manager
Haleigh Pike
hpike@bontencalifornia.com

Eureka Station Contacts

Vice President/General Manager
Andrew Stewart
astewart@bontencalifornia.com

Executive News Director
Jennifer Scarborough
jscarborough@bontencalifornia.com

News Director
Scott Rates
srates@bontencalifornia.com

Station Manager
Joseph Lowe
jlowe@bontencalifornia.com

Local Sales Manager - Eureka
Tom Newhouse
tnewhouse@bontencalifornia.com

Director of Programming
Cris Aguilar
caguilar@esteembroadcasting.com

Traffic Director
Jeremy Alexander
jalexander@bontencalifornia.com

Promotions, Marketing, Production Manager
Harley Wettemann
hwettemann@bontencalifornia.com

Community Outreach/Promotions Coordinator
Katie Summers
ksummers@bontencalifornia.com

Digital Media manager
Haleigh Pike
hpike@bontencalifornia.com